基于HTTPS的驱动器映射胜过传统VPN和防火墙的5种方法

您是否花费大量时间来解决VPN问题
您的远程工作人员是否由于VPN失效而失去了生产力?

您想将防火墙/ VPN费用变成储蓄或利润吗?

切换到基于Web的驱动器映射解决方案!
节省时间,节省资金并提高远程工作者的工作效率和移动性!

您要授权远程工作人员吗?

面对现实吧。 VPN技术很复杂,VPN令人苦恼。 远程办公的压力越来越大加剧了这种苦恼。 Gartner最近对企业首席财务官和领导者进行的一项调查显示,有74%的公司打算将一些员工永久性地转移到远程工作。

例如,Google宣布了改变员工工作方式的计划。 Sundar Pichai在公司范围内发了一封电子邮件,指出该公司不仅将重新复工时间推迟到2021年9月,还将在复工后试行“灵活工作周”。 预计员工将在办公室至少工作三天,剩余时间可以在家里工作。

资料来源:Gartner(2020年4月)

您是否让远程工作人员参与进来?

根据学术研究,导致员工离职的因素之一就是您必须不断地跨越许多阻碍才能获得完成工作所需的一切。

现在,让我们看一下远程工作者在移动设备上设置VPN所需的步骤。首先,找到一个“ AnyConnect VPN客户端”。第二,单击它。 第三,等待它连接并在公司网络中找到文件服务器; 第四,映射驱动器号或使用其他应用程序。 最后,在服务中断时致电支持部门。 麻烦不断。 上面所说是否恰好描述了“不断地跨越许多阻碍”?

您想将防火墙的支出变成储蓄或者利润吗?

您是否正在为使用 AnyConnect 等VPN客户端的Cisco或Palo Alto防火墙付费? 切换到基于Web的驱动器映射解决方案可以将这些成本变成利润或节省。 奇妙的是,基于Web的解决方案也更易于使用,更快且更安全。 您不仅节省了软件许可成本,而且还减少了VPN故障单的故障排除工作时间,并从提高的员工生产力中获利。

基于Web的解决方案并不意味着它仅限于Web浏览器界面。 这意味着利用HTTPS / SSL 基于Web的协议在笔记本电脑上具有远程映射的驱动器号,在iOS和Android手机上具有移动应用程序,并在现代Web浏览器中具有基于Web的文件管理器以用于远程文件服务器访问

服务提供商将防火墙和VPN成本降低了80%。  我们最近与一位MSP合作伙伴进行了交谈。 他们有一家大型律师事务所作为客户。 该公司正在使用Cisco防火墙和AnyConnect VPN客户端,以允许远程工作者访问文件。 将115位用户切换到CentreStack后,成本降低了80%以上。 更重要的是,对于远程工作人员而言,这是一个简单得多的体验,它消除了与VPN相关的票证。

了解详情

这听起来好得令人难以置信吗?

基于网络的映射驱动器

您是否想了解基于Web的方法如何统一驱动器映射,移动应用程序和Web浏览器?

您是否想知道我们如何提供比VPN更高的安全性?  或者,如果您需要VPN甚至RDP来运行应用程序,该怎么办? 继续阅读,我们将解决每个问题。

驱动器映射

员工可以在不使用VPN的情况下将驱动器号映射到公司文件服务器

手机和网络

基于Web的方法更容易将移动设备和Web浏览器以及传统的驱动器映射解决方案统一到一个产品中。 相比之下,基于IPSec的VPN解决方案与Web应用程序不在同一级别。

始终连接

基于Web的方法既安全又不像基于IPSec的解决方案那样挑剔。 继续处理文件而不必担心损坏的VPN会容易得多。

更安全

基于IPSec的VPN解决方案将整个网络开放给远程设备。 基于Web的驱动器映射可以将其锁定在所需的最小端口和协议上,从而大大减小了攻击面。

与VPN相比,安全性如何提高?

以下是使用基于Web的映射驱动器解决方案来替换或增强VPN所带来的安全性益处的一些示例

  1. 您不再需要允许公司网络中不受管理的端点提供远程访问。
  2. 由于远程连接仅限于端口443,并受HTTPS的SSL加密保护,并且内部协议被锁定为SMB(服务器消息块)和LDAP(活动),因此减少了攻击面 目录访问)。
  3. 远程端点是通过组策略,审核和报告进行集中控制的。
  4. 客户端代理提供设备管理功能,例如远程擦除和基于策略的访问。

如果我需要VPN或RDP在桌面上运行应用程序怎么办?

与VPN结合使用的基于网络的驱动器映射解决方案仍然会给你带来很多好处。 例如,即使只是想访问文件,远程工作人员也经常需要登录VPN连接。 这些用户将不再消耗VPN连接,并且将使用更少的带宽。 相反,他们将拥有一个始终在线的映射驱动器,该驱动器会自动在本地缓存其工作集。

通过HTTPS从VPN切换到驱动器映射的5个令人信服的原因

通过HTTPS映射驱动器本地文件共享提供了多个优势。但是共同的主题是将两全其美相结合。我们希望将传统文件服务器的所有安全性和控制功能与基于云的服务(如Dropbox和OneDrive)的可用性和协作功能相结合。

Gladinet解决方案通过在SSL上创建自己的安全隧道来提供对文件服务器的访问,然后在用户熟悉的映射驱动器中将端点上的文件呈现出来,从而实现了这一目标。在映射的驱动器操作期间,用户将注意到右键菜单中的其他选项,这些选项可提高工作效率,例如请求文件,共享文件,启用脱机访问,生成公共链接以及管理修订以保护数据的能力,等等​​。 。换句话说,这是一种新颖的方法,可以通过使用熟悉的映射驱动器作为用户访问,共享和以其他方式在云中或在云上的文件的焦点来统一云和本地存储系统,而不会失去它们各自的优点。任何位置的远程文件服务器

原因1-互联网上的更好性能

基于文件系统驱动程序将按需访问请求缓存到映射的驱动器具有一些非常显着的性能优势。最值得注意的是,用户通常会在常规操作期间发现自己从本地缓存的副本中检索数据。而且,当高速缓存未命中要求传输数据时,将仅传输差异,并且这些传输还将通过一系列复杂的压缩算法。最重要的是,即使在远程或在家工作时,用户仍感觉他们仍在连接到办公室中的高速LAN。对于普通用户而言,可能不容易理解为什么至关重要的是,他们的映射驱动器必须基于经过优化以通过HTTPS进行工作的现代协议,而不是通过启用VPN的广域网(WAN)共享文件。他们可能不理解,设计用于高速,低延迟,高可靠性的局域网(LAN)的文件共享协议(CIFS / SMB)在他们的强制下跨WAN时将无法正常工作VPN。但是,一旦他们感觉到HTTPS上的映射驱动器的易用性和性能,他们就不会在意它为什么起作用了。他们会希望您确保它继续工作。

原因2-易于使用

当远程工作人员使用VPN时,他们必须有意识地记住他们是“连接”还是“断开”。 更糟的是,即使远程工作人员意识到VPN状态为“已连接”,网络故障和笔记本电脑关闭事件也会使VPN处于“断开”状态。

强迫最终用户记住VPN状态就像要求餐厅顾客自己摆桌子,然后在食物出来时将盘子放在桌子上一样。 一个非常简单的解决方案是拥有一个始终在线的驱动器盘符,该盘符可以自动管理联机或脱机状态。 远程工作人员应专注于文件内容,而不必担心“连接AnyConnect VPN客户端”。

原因#3-移动和网络

Dropbox和OneDrive普及了这种想法,无论您是在笔记本电脑,移动电话上还是在Web浏览器上,都可以轻松找到文件。 这些文件始终会在离您最近的设备上跟着您。

使用VPN解决方案,要求远程工作人员跳过几圈,例如在设备上找到VPN客户端或应用,进行连接, 然后在使用后断开连接。   听起来对吗? 如果您遇到麻烦,那么文件终于在您的指尖?

您需要一个像OneDrive一样工作的解决方案,但要将远程工作人员连接到公司文件服务器

原因4-提高安全性

通过HTTPS映射驱动器可以大大减少攻击面。 当客户端设备通过VPN连接到您的网络时,它具有对您的网络的更多访问权限。 对于可能没有正确版本的防病毒软件或其他适当安全措施的非托管设备(对于家庭用户而言通常如此),这可能会带来问题。 相反,通过HTTPS进行的驱动器映射仅提供对每个远程用户所需文件共享的访问,而没有授予他们对整个网络的访问权限。 这使得发起攻击变得更加困难。 除了从根本上减少攻击面之外,还有其他安全功能,例如勒索软件检测和缓解,加密,安全数据室,多因素身份验证,审核和报告,可提供强大的对策来防止入侵或其他未授权行为 用途。

原因5-离线支持

如前所述,与VPN的安全文件共享仅在连接时才有效。 远程工作人员需要右键单击任何文件夹以“启用脱机访问”的选项。 该文件夹的内容随后将被复制到本地缓存,因此您可以在断开网络连接的情况下对其进行操作。 恢复连接后,该软件将自动将脱机文件夹同步回文件服务器,但是当连接断开时,您可以不间断地继续工作。 这样,远程工作可以继续进行而无需依赖Internet连接的可靠性或速度。

准备将文件服务器从本地办公室提升到云并提高移动工作人员的生产率?

5 Ways HTTPS-based Drive Mapping beats Traditional VPNs and Firewalls

Did you spend a lot of time troubleshooting VPN issues?
Did your remote workforce lose productivity when VPN wasn't working?

Do you want to turn firewall/VPN expenses into savings or profits?

Switch to a web-based drive mapping solution!
Save time, save money, and increase remote worker's productivity and mobility!

Are you empowering your remote workforce?

Let’s face it. VPN technology is complicated, and VPN is a pain. A pain exacerbated by the clichéd increasing pressure to work remotely.  A recent Gartner survey of enterprise CFOs and leaders indicates that 74% of companies intend to shift some employees to remote work permanently. 

Google, for example, announced plans to change the way employees work. There is a company-wide email from Sundar Pichai indicating that the company will not only push back reopenings to September 2021, but pilot a “flexible work-week” when in-person work resumes. Staff would be expected to work in the office for at least three days of “collaboration,” but could spend any other days at home.

Source: Gartner (April 2020)

Are you keeping remote workers engaged?

According to academic research, one of the factors that cause employee disengagement is when you have to keep climbing over or around barriers to get what you need to do your job. 

Now let's count the steps a remote worker takes to set up VPNs on mobile devices. First, find a "AnyConnect VPN client". Second, click on it. Third, wait for it to connect and find a file server in the corporate network; Fourth, map a drive letter or use another app. And last, calling support when it breaks. The hassles go on and on. Does the above describe exactly "keep climbing over or around barriers"? 

Do you want to turn firewall expenses into savings or profits?

Are you paying for a Cisco or Palo Alto firewall with a VPN client like AnyConnect? Switching to a web-based drive mapping solution can turn those costs into profits or savings. The fantastic thing is that a web-based solution is also easier to use, faster, and more secure. You are saving money on software licensing costs, and you are also saving money from reduced VPN ticket troubleshooting working hours and making money from enhanced employee productivity.

A web-based solution doesn't mean it is limited to a web browser interface. It means leveraging HTTPS/SSL web-based protocols to have a remotely mapped drive letter on your laptop, have mobile applications on your iOS and Android phones, and have a web-based file manager in modern web browsers for remote file server access.

Service provider reduces firewall and VPN costs by 80% .  We recently spoke with one of our MSP partners. They had a large law firm as a client. The firm was using a Cisco Firewall and the AnyConnect VPN client to allow remote workers to access files. After switching 115 users to CentreStack, costs were reduced by more than 80%. More importantly, it was a much simpler experience for remote workers, which eliminated VPN-related tickets.

Learn More

Does this sound too good to be true?

Web-based Mapped Drive

Are you interested in seeing how a web-based approach unifies drive-mapping, mobile applications, and web browsers?

Are you wondering how we can offer more security than a VPN?  Or what if you need the VPN or even RDP to run applications? Keep reading, and we’ll address each of these issues.

Drive Mapping

Employees can map a drive letter to corporate file servers without using a VPN

Mobile and Web

The Web-based approach is much easier to unify mobile devices and web browsers and traditional drive mapping solutions into one offering. As a comparison, IPSec-based VPN solution is not on the same level as web applications.

Always Connected

The web-based approach is as secure and at the same time not as picky as an IPSec based solution. It is much easier to keep working on files without worrying about broken VPNs.

More Secure

IPSec-based VPN solutions open the whole network to remote devices. Web-based drive mapping can lock it down to minimum required ports and protocols for a much smaller attack surface.

How is security enhanced when compared to a VPN?

Here are a few examples of the security benefits that come from using a web-based mapped drive solution to replace or augment a VPN

  1. You no longer have to allow unmanaged endpoints on your corporate network to provide remote access.
  2. The attack surface is reduced since remote connections are restricted to port 443, protected by SSL encryption via HTTPS, and internal protocols are locked down to SMB (Server Message Block) and LDAP (Active Directory access).
  3. Remote endpoints are centrally controlled through group policies, auditing, and reporting. File changes are audited, and the change in history is preserved.
  4. Client agents provide device management features like remote wipe and policy-based access.

What if I need a VPN or RDP to run an application on the desktop?

You’ll still get a lot of benefit from the web-based drive mapping solution in tandem with the VPN. For example, remote workers often need to login to the VPN connection even when they just want access to a file. These users will no longer consume a VPN connection and will use a lot less bandwidth. Instead, they’ll have an always-on mapped drive that automatically caches their working set locally.

5 Compelling Reasons to Switch from VPN to Drive Mapping Over HTTPS

Mapping a drive over HTTPS provides several advantages for on-premise file sharing. But the common theme is to combine the best of both worlds. We want all the security and control of a traditional file server to be combined with the usability and collaboration features of cloud-based services like Dropbox and OneDrive.

Gladinet solutions achieve this by creating its own secure tunnel over SSL to provide access to file servers and then present the files on the endpoint in a mapped drive that users are familiar with. During the mapped drive operation, the user will notice additional options in the right-click menu that offer productivity boosters like the ability to request files, share files, enable offline access, generate public links, and manage revisions to protect the data, and more. In other words, it's a novel approach to unify cloud and on-premises storage systems without losing any of their respective benefits by using a familiar mapped drive as the focal point for users to access, share, and otherwise manage files in the cloud or on remote file servers from any location.

Reason #1 - Better Performance over the Internet

Caching on-demand access requests to a mapped drive based on file system drivers provides some very significant performance benefits. Most notably, users will usually find themselves retrieving data from the locally cached copy during regular operation. And when a cache miss requires that data be transferred, only the differences will be transmitted, and those transfers will also go through a series of sophisticated compression algorithms. The bottom line is that the users feel like they're still connected to the high-speed LAN in the office even when they're working remotely or from home. It may not be easy for the average user to understand why it's essential that their mapped drives are based on a modern protocol optimized to work over HTTPS instead of sharing files over a VPN-enabled wide-area-network (WAN). And they may not understand that the file-sharing protocols (CIFS/SMB) designed to work on a high-speed, low-latency high-reliability local area network (LAN) won't work as well when forced across the WAN by their VPN. But once they feel the ease of use and performance of a mapped drive over HTTPS, they won't care why it works. They'll want you to make sure that it keeps working.

Reason #2 - Ease of Use

When remote workers use VPN, they must consciously remember whether they are "connected" or "disconnected." To make matters worse, network glitches and laptop lid-closing events can turn the VPN into a "disconnected" state, even when remote workers recognize that the VPN state was "connected."

Forcing end-users to remember a VPN state is like asking restaurant customers to set the tables themselves and put the plates on the table when food comes out. A much easy solution is to have an always-on drive letter that manages the online or offline state automatically. Remote workers shall focus on the file contents, without the hassle of "connecting AnyConnect VPN client."

Reason #3 - Mobile and Web

Dropbox and OneDrive popularized the idea that you can find your files at your fingertips whether you are on your laptop, mobile phone, or with a web browser. The files are always following you on your closest device. 

With a VPN solution, the remote workers are required to jump through several hoops, such as find a VPN client or app on the device, connect it, and then disconnect it after usage.  Does it sound right to you? If you jump through hoops, the files are at your fingertips finally ??

You need a solution that works like an OneDrive, but connect your remote workers to corporate file servers instead.

Reason #4 - Increases Security

Mapping a drive over HTTPS significantly reduces your attack surface. When a client device connects to your network with a VPN, it has much more access to your network. This can prove problematic for an unmanaged device (typical for home users) that may not have the correct versions of antivirus software or other security countermeasures in place. In contrast, drive mapping over HTTPS only provides access to the file shares that each remote user needs without giving them access to the entire network. This makes it much more difficult to mount an attack. And in addition to the fundamental reduction in attack surface, there are additional security features like ransomware detection and mitigation, encryption, secure data rooms, multi-factor authentication, auditing, and reporting that provide a robust arsenal of countermeasures to prevent intrusions or other unauthorized uses.

Reason #5 - Offline Support

As mentioned earlier, secure file sharing with a VPN only works while connected. Remote workers need the option to right-click on any folder to 'Enable Offline Access.' That folder's contents will then be copied to the local cache so you can work on it while disconnected from the network. The software will automatically synchronize the offline folder back to your file server whenever connectivity is restored, but you can continue to work uninterrupted when the connection is lost. In this way, remote work can continue without any dependence on your Internet connection's reliability or speed.

Ready to elevate file servers from local office to the cloud and boost mobile workforce productivity?